The Collective


By April 13, 2017 No Comments

THE COLLECTIVE x DESIGNOW is a fashion show and competition among 
a collective group of 28 talented design students from New York City’s top fashion schools: the Fashion Institute of Technology, The New School: Parsons School of Design and PRATT Institute. The show took place on Sunday, April 2nd at 526 West 26th Street –West Chelsea Gallery.

In its first season, THE COLLECTIVE x DESIGNOW is not just another student fashion show. It offered these emerging designers an unparalleled platform to showcase their work to industry experts. The participating designers are semifinalists from a juried selection process, open to students from the three schools, which took place in January. A panel of industry judges including: fashion designer, Michael Costello; fashion photographer and philanthropist, Sophie Elgort; celebrity footwear designer and CFDA member, Ruthie DavisELLE Magazine Fashion News Editor, Naomi Rougeau; and designer and Project Runway winner, Irina Shabayeva selected the winner of THE COLLECTIVE x DESIGNOW Fashion Show among the participants.


The 28 designers competed for two prize packages:

The “First Place Fashion Designer Award” 
This prize package includes: $1000 cash prize + 3 month-paid contract as a designer at the Designow Studio + one design from their collection to be developed, manufactured, photographed and sold

The “Fan Favorite” Fashion Designer Award”
All of the designers runway looks was published on after the show for Designow members to vote for their favorite designer. (Designow membership is free and anyone can sign-up to vote.) The winner of the Fan Favorite award will receive: $2000 cash prize + one design from their collection to be developed, manufactured, photographed and sold on

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.